Bargain crafting

March 4, 2009

A couple that lives on the block across from us that we met through a friend is going to have a baby.  They are pretty cool and we met them ages ago but we have never been able to get together even though they only live on the next block. That’s sad on my part.  But, it’s weird sometimes.  What is with this great divide of people who have kids and people who don’t? When I was growing up (and by growing up, I mean my early twenties) my best friend had a son before I met her and then proceeded to have 2 more kids.  But now that I have a child, it’s like I am only allowed to make friends with other moms.  Which is lame because it’s always “Who’s the better mommy?” game.  Plus, I’m coming to terms with the fact that I am a perfectionist and who wants that for a friend?  Now that they are expecting, I don’t want it to seem like we are now so suddenly so much more interested in them as friends.  Cause I thought they were cool before.  They’ve done a lot of traveling, lived in multiple states and somehow ended up exactly we are.  Perhaps now there will be more wandering down the street.  But anyway, back to craft.  We are having them over and I needed to whip up a baby gift fast.

polar bear

 

This is more decorative as it’s rickety stitching probably won’t hold up to an infant. Courtesy of my new best friend, Miyako Kanamori.  Oh, public library.  You have saved me once again. Next one I think will be bloody clawed people eating polar bear.  Last pair of white gloves in the store provided by Dollar Tree.  And I picked up some of those multicolored fleece scarfs for future use.  Uh oh, I’m stocking up on supplies for stuff that I haven’t even thought up yet. Well, it’s all downhill from here.

9 Responses to “Bargain crafting”

  1. This is adorable in that wonderful made just for me way. Thank you for sharing it.

  2. I like this little guy; very economical and CUTE! I just went to the dollar tree, too, and picked up potential crafting project supplies! :)

  3. Jessie said

    Great polar bear. I am constantly buying crafty things/supplies that I don’t need! It’s addictive! Your projects are awesome!
    Jessie
    PterodactylPants

  4. Jacqueline said

    This little guy is soooo cute! Your projects are really awesome! Thank you for sharing! have a lovely merry happy day and love to you and yours!

  5. simi said

    ha! Your addiction has officially begun! Congratulations!
    That’s a cute little bear too :)

  6. beingbeatrice said

    Cute x

  7. magpie said

    Totally cute.

    I have piles of stuff in the cellar, awaiting time and inspiration…

  8. Wendy said

    Aww that is so adoreable! I love cheap and easy crafts. The bloody polar bear idea would be a riot, he so needs felt claw!

  9. susan said

    i have noticed the same thing
    you end up hanging around people that have kids your same age or none. my daughter is 15, and my friends have kids around the same age-ish or older, luckily we dont play the im a better mom than you thing anymore. i think maybe that comes more in to play when your kids are young, and parenting is intense in a different way. was that totally nonsensical???
    sweet little softie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

