Happy New Year GIVEAWAY!

January 1, 2010

I know it’s cheesy, but last year on New Year’s is when I first started blogging and everyone does a giveaway on their bloggerversary so I thought I should too.    And what better way to celebrate than with a felt cake.

No rules or anything, just leave a comment and on Monday, January 25th, I will draw a name and that person will take the cake.  Literally!

I had read somewhere that in Feng Shui oranges are a sign or prosperity so that’s what I was going with as far as the decoration.

But mostly, I really wanted to note the craft highlight of the last year, doing a handmade
Pay It Forward.  It’s really a wonderful way to meet people  and also a great way to improve your craft skills while doing something nice for someone.  If you have not done one, I highly recommend it.

And over the past months, I have been looking for inspiration by searching for other handmade PIFs that people have done but haven’t actually had any luck finding many.

So, I decided to start a flickr pool especially for handmade pay it forwards to showcase the lovely work that people have done out the kindness of their hearts.   If you or someone you know has made items for a handmade Pay It Forward, please join the group and add photos as encouragement for more people:

Craft it Forward

Thanks everyone and have a wonderful and prosperious and crafty 2010!

…… .  .   .    .     .      .

And the winner is:

that’s you:

Miss Vittoria!

Thank you everyone for playing and many happy wishes for a great year for all!

65 Responses to “Happy New Year GIVEAWAY!”

  1. Amy said

    That is a fantastic creation! It looks so realistic! Great work!

  2. Miranda said

    dude. i want that cake. also, i need to look into this craft it forward…am intrigued.

  3. I did a PIF this year, but I’ll have to try to find the photos!

    Happy New Year!

  4. Kim said

    Happy anniversary!!! I’ve loved reading your posts – and am looking forward to more this year!

  5. GG said

    Ooh, I can almost smell the citrus! What a lovely cake…I adore felt crafts. Thanks so much for the chance to win.

  6. Kristina said

    Id love to win this is a great idea!

  7. kate said

    happy new year chickita. its such a good idea/plan… some day i’ll find my camera… :)maybe 2011?

  8. Jules O said

    Wow I just found this on flickr, & I must say the cake looks awesome! I’m just starting to make some felt food, & your pieces look inspiring!

  9. Daisie said

    Happy New Year to you too!
    And happy bloggy birthday!
    Love the cake, brilliant.
    I did a PIF a while ago but am waiting on another arriving so will be asking for three more people to play at some point.
    xxx

  10. Loralynn said

    Your cake is so cute! I especially like the oranges! Here’s wishing you and yours a happy 2010!

  11. Jo Avery said

    Love your felt cake! It looks good enough to eat! I did a Pay it Forward on my blog a few weeks back but so far only 1 person has signed up, so if you fancied having another go… Just go to my blog – I have a PIF badge that will take you through to the right post.
    I’ve got very into using felt over the holidays, wonderful stuff!!

  12. All I can say is KAWAIIIIIIII so cute and adorable. Happy Holidays.

  13. Skooks said

    Adorable! Off to check out the PIF . . .

  14. oh
    my goodness!

    Felt Mandarin Orange Slices!
    {{ well, i never!
    until now–> yippee! }}
    :-)

    clearly you are ~shining~
    in artistic ability
    over here.
    clearly.

    i am going NOW
    to look at the flickr
    {{ what a fun idea
    whose time has come }}

  15. Prairie Girl said

    Your felt cake is adorable. I am hoping to make some felt food for my daughter in the new year – yours looks delicious :)

  16. OH!
    That cake looks soooo YUMMY! What a cute idea!
    Hugs,
    Christina

  17. Adelaide said

    OMG! I thought it was a real cake. The oranges look delicious.

  18. angela said

    I love the idea of crafting pay it forward. It is such a wonderful idea. Thank you for sharing. Happy New Year

  19. Pattie said

    Happy First Birthday!!!!

    Thank you so much for stopping by mi casa for a visit!!! Please come again, I’ll be sure to have a pitcher of fresh limonada cooling in the frig!! :) Your felt cake is ever sooooo adorable!!! Isn’t it remarkable what you can create with felt???? Here in our fabric stores you can buy any color imaginable by the meter. It is used to create costumes for Carneval (in Feb) and every other costume needs through out the year. :)

    Pattie ;)
    Mazatlan Mexico

  20. ana said

    happy new year, and happy blog anniversary! :) that is a seriously cute cake!

  21. dollyasylum said

    Om nom nom nom….delicious cake….like i said, I eat felt! Only because it is low in fat.
    Yummy looking creation m’gal! Happy 2010! :)

  22. Lauranie said

    AWESOME!! LOVE the oranges…so very creative! I uploaded some PIFs to the flickr pool, I anticipate it being FILLED this year as more ppl are starting to “find” their creativeness!! I would have to say that this is the BEST “trend” ever..hope it lasts because I believe if more ppl knew how to make their own things instead of running to Walmart every other day…the world would be a simpler, happier place!! :D HAPPY 2010!!

  23. Misty said

    You are doing such cool stuff with felt! I love the cake, owl, sushi and applique on your son’s clothes. I can’t wait to see what you make next!

  24. Oh my gosh, this cake is SO cute!!

  25. nicola said

    that is so cute and creative!
    i admit, i am horrid with flickr, but i made little envelopes out of recycled maps to hold seeds from homegrown veggies as a pay it forward once upon a time. simple, no skill involved.
    happy blogaversary!
    nicola

    http://whichname.blogspot.com

  26. Lara said

    Super cute cake! What a great idea to start a pool specifically for PIF! I still have one place left so if you know anyone that might like one of my handmade goodies, let me know :)

  27. Silvia said

    What a beautiful cake!!! Happy bloganniversary! and Happy New Year!!!

  28. paula said

    so nice to have you visiting my blog! thank you very much!!! :)
    Happy 2010! :)

  29. randi said

    Cute! I am so impressed with your craftness!

  30. Emily said

    This cake is so much fun! Happy New Year! and thanks for the giveaway!

  31. leslie said

    That is so adorable! I could defnitely use some cute cake-shaped feng shui in my life!!

  32. Megan said

    That is incredibly creative! Love it!

  33. Colleen said

    Thanks for the give away! What a cute cake!

  34. Dylan Aller said

    very pretty cake!

  35. wow, wicked adorable! the realistic frosting swirly dopplets look so real (& complicated to make!) – merry 1 yr of bloggy bloggerson. yay! keep on keeping on with handmade for a new decade! woo-woot! ;D thank you for sharing this super cute and inspiring felt creation- we’d totally love to take the cake over here!!! yummy cuteness!

  36. Jullee said

    That is super cute..and a great idea! I wish I were more crafty and could make cute pay it forward things. Maybe I’ll work on that this year :)

  37. Heather said

    This looks delicious! Cheers

    Heather

  38. Shannon said

    What a super sweet looking cake. Happy 1 year of blogging I sometimes think of starting one…Enjoy year two.

  39. Rebecka said

    Your cake looks yummy! Happy New Year!

  40. Danijela said

    Lovely giveaway.Happy first year in blog world!Happy New Year!

  41. micaela said

    did someone said giveaway ??? :D

    happy bloggerversary :)

  42. lisa said

    Happy New Year!

    When I first saw this, I thought it was real!

    What a gift that would be.

  43. wow , great idea.
    I like the cake ,yum , yum.
    hugs

  44. Gina said

    I love homemade gifts…how cute.

  45. babs said

    this can be my felt motivation to lose weight :)
    i’ve done PIFs before on etsy, i’ll go check out your flickr group!
    happy anniversary!

  46. Chris said

    Congrats, congrats!! I love this little cake and it’s lusciously made and I must have it. Or, I must just admire it from afar and thank you for the opportunity!

    This flickr group is a great idea. I am bookmarking to remind me to submit something this weekend. I’m at the ‘stage’ where I need lots of reminding, even when it something fantastic!

    Great way to PIF!

  47. Lisa R said

    I thought it was a real cake

  48. sheri said

    I love your crafts. Happy happy new year to you too!!

  49. Penny said

    congrats on your blog anniversary! so did you make the felt cake yourself? It is so sweet! I’ve been so blessed lately you don’t need to enter me in your giveaway, but I just had to say how cute it is!

  50. karen said

    WANT! Stop making me hungry AND jealous.

  51. Sarah Coulsey said

    This is a really cute giveaway!!!

  52. cindy said

    awesome, as usual! Thanks for the giveaway!

    cindydulong@hotmail.com

  53. Magda said

    Wow! This cake is so cute!

  54. Vittoria said

    what a gorgeous thing! i love fake food :)

    DolphinV27@aol.com

  55. Angel Jem said

    I had to check the post twice… that cake is really felt? Na? That must be real?

  56. Marci said

    Oh my! What a cake! I want one for my 6 year old niece to play with in her “kitchen.” She’d have a blast with it, serving it to her imaginary friends.

    Thanks,
    Marci
    june_spirit2628@hotmail.com

  57. Anny said

    Me gusta Cake!

  58. kuka said

    mmmm your felty cake looks DELISH!
    Congratulations on your blogiversary!

  59. Rain said

    Happy 2010!!! Way cool cake you got there :D

  60. Lo said

    Such a cute cake!!

  61. Angela B said

    Super duper cute! I love the details! It is so cute I could eat it.

  62. Miranda said

    Happy bloggerversary!! Hey, thanks for posting this over on Modern Roots. We appreciate your participation in our growing crafty community.

  63. Pick me! Pick me! This cake is ADORABLE!!!!

  64. Lia said

    I know this giveaway is over, but I just had to comment here. I started my blog on the same day you did. I’m really liking your blog. Very funny and full of cute things. Congratulations on your blogiversary!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

