more like angry hacky sack

June 10, 2011

So we got one of those ipads a while back and I am dead set on not spending any money on apps.  I NEED those apple credits for music.  But once my husband discovered the free version of angry birds, so did a certain little 3 year old boy.  And hey, when you keep scrolling on one of the versions of the game, there’s a link to the Angry Birds plush website where you can buy them.  Really, twelve bucks?   “Mama, there’s a red one and a blue one and a green one and the black one……..”  Then the light bulb goes off and I remembered that I needed to get around to making one of Care’s wonderful recreations and thank god she has a tutorial.

Only her tutorial requires an agreeable sewing machine and something about a free motion foot which I am pretty sure I can’t get for my model.  Anyway, I wanted to make them smaller and I used felt instead of fleece.  And instead of fiber I used rice as a filler. Which now I wonder if that’s a good idea with a toddler.  I imagine little rice grains everywhere from a busted blanket stitch.  Or it’s actually heavy enough to knock over other small objects.

This little guy will greet another little guy with his breakfast cereal.  And more to come, just you can’t just make one.

Damn it’s late.  Happy Friday!

12 Responses to “more like angry hacky sack”

  1. kim said

    Oh my! Awesome! I don’t do angry birds either – husband and kids do, but unlucky for them I won’t be making any, as I know someone would use them in a catapult. Around the house. And I’m sure it wouldn’t be a kid.

  2. Care said

    Woooooo! You did it! And he is ADORABLE! I love his ittibittiness! :-D Hee hee! Now I am super tempted to make some tiny ones, too…. Your son will be in heaven!!

    (You DO know there will be no getting out of making evey single bird, right??)

  3. Jennifer said

    OH MY GOODNESS! I love Angry Birds and have been hit up on numerous occasions for the plushies. My answer is always no. Now I am inspired, Happy Summer.

  4. Skooks said

    As ever, a post from you never disappoints. Rice spilling out the side would be tragic. And by tragic I mean hilarious.

  5. cutie patootie!! lucky little breakfast eater, he sure will get a nice surprise.

  6. Kerry said

    This is too cool, it’s so cute. The littles in my house have discovered the angry birds game too. I’m thinking, if they had some of these little guys there would be tons of crazy block, box and bottle buildings constructed and then demolished by flying rice filled angry birds. Too fun!

  7. kelly said

    So neat! And your little guy will remember these when he grows up, because they do have rice in them, so they’re nice and heavy. Just like the real thing.

    The big question is, will your husband also want some now

  8. Lauranie said

    Very cute…although I have NO idea what Angry Birds are…this looks very angry! :D Maybe next time…if there is one…you could use split peas or lentils…still get the weight but maybe easier to clean up? Hope your summer is going well! Me? just sitting around reading alot and being lazy in general….BLISS!! xo

  9. Diana said

    I freakin’ love it! And the kids were obsessed with the game, it has thankfully subsided a bit. But my husband actually considered buying the plushies, one for each kid. (3) He may still, and I’ll let him, because there’s no way any attempt of mine would come out looking like yours!

  10. Carla said

    So so cute! I love that it’s a morning surprise! I am also super jealous that you have an ipad – I want one bad, because apparently I don’t waste enough time already.

  11. Paige said

    That looks equal parts adorable and dangerous. Just how I like it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

