It’s a damn small world

May 1, 2009

I am blessed to have such a lovely neighbor (Grandma No. 3.)  She has become a close friend and spends lots of time with us which we love.  Every time we hang together, out comes the sharing of stories between us.  The cities we have lived in, the boyfriends, jobs, etc.  She was raised on the East Coast and lived the debutant lifestyle only to leave it all and move to the organic hippie life of the Pacific Northwest.  So the other day, we were talking about where she lived with her married boyfriend after her divorce and before you get any ideas, she was not a mistress in the bad sense.  But that’s besides the point.  “We were renting a house from our art dealer friends, Harold & Hester.  Their son, Michael, was in a band.   Maybe you have heard of them, The Beastie Boys.”  Have I heard of them?  Are you crazy?  Not only have I heard of them, I still adore them to this day and have even met them back in my concert going backstage stalking days.  Then she proceeds to tell me that she hasn’t seen him since he was a skinny little kid and I giggle a little like a school girl.  Well who hasn’t had a crush on Mike D? Anyway, I whip this out and she giggles.

 

cassette tape wallet

 

Such an odd coincidence.  How the hell did we met this fabulous lady?  I almost felt bad about pulling apart a perfectly good tape for this cassette wallet (which was a lot harder than I thought it would be.  If attempting, don’t forget protective eye wear.)  But then, who was I kidding?  I don’t have a cassette player anywhere, not even in the car not to mention that the tape has sat in a box for probably a decade.  I guess for now old school is going to stay right where it belongs, in the old category.

And I stitched a pocket inside using (don’t ask me why I still have it) the concert ticket stub from earlier said stalking experience.  I can’t think of a better way to preserve a concert ticket stub than inside a cassette tape wallet.

inside pocket for wallet

12 Responses to “It’s a damn small world”

  1. Thats so cool! I love weird coincidences like that. And that purse is great. I think I do still have that tape in my car :o) Mike D was always the best one!

  2. icantsew said

    you make THE coolest things! it is so nice that you have struck up such a wonderful friendship, hope you get to have a gazillion more convos together 🙂
    %*_*% rosey

  3. Rain said

    That is way WAY cool!!!!

  4. 3rdEyeMuse said

    I’m always thrilled when I find out that the world has gotten a tiny bit smaller. 🙂

    LOVE the happy coincidence of this meeting!

  5. Jennie said

    What a clever idea! I’m trying to work out how I’d go about making one of these!

  6. Vone said

    What a great idea. And cool story too 🙂

  7. beingbeatrice said

    That is sooo so cool!

  8. A.That wallet is awesome.
    B.Agree about the crush on Mike D!
    C. What a cool neighbor!
    tina 🙂

  9. I love this idea and would like to see more photos of the wallet! very cool 🙂

  10. awesome- oh i want one, too! but i’m not sure if i have the patience to make something like this…looks tricky! thank you for sharing 😀

  11. Hilarious. Ahhh the Beastie Boys, me 15, stole the parents car to go see them with Fishbone and Murphy’s Law.

  12. Charisse said

    Great work! I agree, taking the tape apart was no small feat. Protective eye wear may be necessary if your not careful.

Leave a Reply

