psffft, consumerism

March 31, 2010

I hate buying new things.
I search ebay and craigslist and am fortunate to have some kick ass resale stores around me.   Not just of kids stuff, but I am finding more cool consignment shops for myself.

Not to forget Goodwill.  Love you Goodwill.

I have never once thought about remaking clothing until a recent visit to the $1 sale at a local used clothing shop had me buying this:

See, we’re a little Paul Frank monkey crazy over here.


I assure you, everything here was bought second hand or deeply discounted.

Why does a 2 year old need a monkey wallet?  Damn you Dwell magazine and your Small Paul ads for making me think I can’t be a cool hip designer mom without them.

Anyway, I finally took the plunge into recycling, upcycling, revamping, what have you  – to come up with this:

Now if I can only pimp him out with some felt hip hop bling. Hmmmm.

And while I was at it, decided to resew some old record label shirts I thrashed and was never gonna wear again.

Perfect for a little boy, though.

I’m actually quite amazed I was able to pull it off.   But don’t get too excited, you will still find better quality sewing from the Dollar Tree and I will not be showing you what the inside of the shirts look like.

I dream of being a katiedid.

While the sewing machine and I are often at odds, this time I was the victorious one.  But not without a fight.   That Singer made sure it got a needle in my middle finger before it was done.  Visit to emergency room not required.

So, yay!   More clothing saved from the garbage.   And that Paul Frank shirt has become what it always should have been.  A piece of clothing for a toddler and not something for a prepubescent 12 year old girl.

And now when the other moms see it, they can be like:
“Oh my god! That’s so cute! Where’d you get it?”
And I can be like:
“I totally got it on sale at Target!”
and they will be like:
“For real?”
And I can be all:
“NOT, beoches!”

Oh, I’d never say that.   To their faces.

And somewhere in the distant background, the music from The Sugarhill Gang’s “Rapper’s Delight” is fading out…..

18 Responses to “psffft, consumerism”

  1. Jennifer said

    PLEASE make felt “bling” Please, please, please! The velour jogging suit is rocking my world. Rocking it!

  2. tif said

    This post is perfect! and the felt bling~ now I would love to see some of that!

  3. Care said

    NEED! FELT! BLING! I must chant: “Do it! Do it!! DO IT!!”

    Awesome refashions — I am especially loving the record label shirts. PERFECT!!

    Hope the finger’s okay. They tend to throb for about 12 hours, and then you’d never know you’d punched a hole in it! (Yes, unfortunately I have experience with sewing fingers!!)

  4. Ruby said

    You are so funny!
    And I also implore you to make the felt bling!

  5. jacqueline said

    I’m a fan of Paul Frank monkey too. 😀 This tee is sooo adorable! You did such a wonderful work on the tees for your little one! Oh yes i would love to see some felt bling! Have a lovely happy day and love to you!

  6. Loralynn said

    Now THAT’s and awesome t-shirt!! I vote for the felt bling too!!

  7. terriaw said

    What a steal for a buck! That tshirt goes perfectly with his outfit. I love shopping at Goodwill, St. Vincent de Paul, and Ragstock, but I haven’t had this much luck lately. I need to go more frequently and dig a little deeper. Thanks for the reminder that thrifting is still cool!

  8. Gina said

    Wow, at least you ATTEMPT to make your kid look like he wasn’t dressed in someone else’s hand-me-downs.

    Not that there’s anything wrong with that …:)

  9. Skooks said

    I said hip hop a hip it to the hip it to hip hip hop you don’t stop a rocking to the bang bang boogie said up jumped the boogie to the rhythm of the boogie the beat . . .

    And I can be all:
    “NOT, beoches!”

    LOL!

    I would totally be the same way. In my head.

    I love it!!

  10. Hahaha! The beotches “thought bubble” is priceless. 😀

  11. Alex Mason said

    I love the Paul Frank t-shirt! 🙂

  12. Jenny said

    Love what you did with this shirt!

  13. dollyasylum said

    CUTE.
    That is a great idea, recycling the T-shirts! I’ve been wanting to make some cute stuff for my kidlet, but I is too lazyyyyy.
    You have inspired me however!

  14. jocelan said

    i saw paul frank with my friend ..he is kinda wierd actually but i love his designs too.

  15. Rain said

    Omigosh you are HILARIOUS!

  16. Lauranie said

    I’m trying to stifle the uncontrollable laughing in my head with just a chuckle or two…so my children won’t think I am even MORE weird than I already am!! 😀 So funny…and soooo AWESOME! Doesn’t re-fashioning make you feel so totally SMUG!!?? Love it!!

  17. Diana said

    You crack me up! Awesome job, as usual. I need to man up (woman up?) and attempt sewing for my kids, already. Oh, and I almost died when you mentioned felt bling. Do it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

